Posted in poetry

I Know What Happened To Lulu

I know what happened to Lulu, mother

I know what happened to Lu

I ran into her a few days ago

And got her phone number too

I know why she ran away, mother

She ran away from you

She couldnt bear to stay for longer

She walked away because of you

Why do you turn your head mother,

As if you feign remorse?

Isn’t that what you’ve always wanted

Her begone, close the doors?

You were never there for her, mother

When she needed you the most

You’ve always shown favoritism to me

Aren’t I your jewel to boast?

This time she didn’t cry mother

Her chin was held up high

Her face has a glow that only God knows

And then I said goodbye

Your words will forever scar her, mother

But now she’s stronger too

I finally found Lulu mother,

And I am happy for Lu

-Ameerah Sofea